What Non-writers don’t get…

March 14, 2011 § Leave a comment

Recently, I met another fellow writer who said that most writers hated writing. I thought I heard it all–Now, I’ve come across some writers who hate reading.   For me, my writing strangely provides a source of sanity, and a way for me to vent, to express myself. Hate writing? Not so much. Proscrastinate? Yes. Why do I do it? I have no idea, but the thing is in order to be a writer I have to write. How else am I going to get published? Certainly not by “writing” in my head…which brings me to what I feel that some non-writers don’t get.

It’s so easy I can do it!

Oh, how I loathe these words when I hear people say them. I love coming across the people who tell me it’s so easy to write and that they can do it (translation–you’re nothing but a lazy daydreamer). What they fail to realize is that writing like anything else, whether it’s learning a new language, how to play the guitar, etc. takes time and discipline. As a fiction writer coming up with characters and creating a life for them is roughly about 80% of the work. The other 20% involves research. For example, if you’re writing about a character who’s a lawyer–you can’t just heavily rely on your imagination–you have to do a bit of research.  Nowadays with a technologically savvy readership someone’s probably bound to call you out if you don’t have your stuff right. I frequently read message boards of some books and t.v. shows and I read the comments about how writers haven’t done their research. I don’t want to become one of those writers.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What Non-writers don’t get… at The Starving Writer.

meta

